Skip to main content
South Suburban College
Enter Search Words
Home Page: Nursing
The SSC Library welcomes you!
About the Library
Faculty and Staff Directory
Federal Depository Library
Get My Future
Nursing Testing Resources
NCLEX ESSENTIAL PRE-TEST RESOURCES AND GUIDES
Candidate Bulletin & Information
Details on how to register, tests procedures, and results processing. To be read before registering to take a test.
"The test plans serve as blue prints to outline the content to be tested and guide the item writing process."
Authorization to Test
Find the link to register for the NCLEX test here.
Computer Adaptive Testing (CAT)
"The NCLEX uses CAT to administer the exam. CAT is a method for administering exams that merges computer technology with modern measurement theory to increase the efficiency of the exam process."
Peterson's Practice Tests for the NCLEX ($)
Requires a fee to download.
HESI PRE-TEST RESOURCES AND GUIDES
HESI A2 Study Guide
Free practice tests, flashcards, and study guides, sponsored by Union Test Prep.
TEST OF ESSENTIAL ACADEMIC SKILLS (TEAS)
TEAS Study Guide
Union Test Prep sponsored site features flashcards, study guides, practice questions for the TEAS.
Lab Tests Online
Helps patients and medical care professional understand the many essential lab tests that play a vital role in current healthcare practices.
List most used equations and calculators for medical needs.
Dictionary.com Medical Dictionary
Up-to-date and free open-source medical reference resource.
"Memory-boosting tools to assist in mastering medical information."
Talking Glossary of Genetic Terms
Use this resource to understand terms and concepts used in genetic research.
Who Named It
"A biographical dictionary of medical eponyms."
DRUG AND HERBAL INFORMATION
Quality and recent information regarding marketed drugs.
Drug Information Portal
Current and accurate information on more than 12,000 drugs.
MedlinePlus Drug Information
Information on thousands of prescription and over-the-counter medications.
"ProjectKnow.com aims to inform parents and family members of those struggling with addiction, as well as addicts and alcoholics themselves, about the options available for treating addiction."
HEALTH LITERACY TOOLS
Health Resources and Services Administration - Health Literacy
Free online courses to help professionals and consumers be more health literate.
The Merck Manuals
Find the manual that is right for you!
The Cochrane Library is comprised of several databases that identify research at varying levels of evidence
Nursing Education in Video
"Nursing Education in Video is a unique online collection of videos created specifically for the education and training of nurses, nursing assistants, and other healthcare workers."
Books in SSC Catalog
Springhouse Publishing Company Staff; Lippincott Williams & Wilkins Staff (Prepared for Publication by)
Call Number: 610.116 N116 copy1
Publication Date: 2010-06-24
Study more effectively and stress less with NCLEX-RN Review Made Incredibly Easy.
Springhouse Publishing Company Staff (Editor)
Call Number: 610.105 N105
Publication Date: 2008-10-09
NCLEX-RN®: An Incredibly Easy! Workout features over 150 enjoyable practice exercises.
Mosby's Tour Guide to Nursing School
Call Number: 610.20N20
Publication Date: 2006-03-01
Davis's NCLEX-RN® Success
Sally L. Lagerquist; Janice Lloyd McMillin (Editor); Robyn Marchal Nelson (Editor); Kathleen E. Snider (Editor)
Call Number: 610.73 L42
Publication Date: 2005-11-18
American Psychological Association
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association
American Psychological Association Staff
Call Number: 808.06615 P96
Publication Date: 1994-07-01
The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) provides a free and comprehensive overview of the APA manual of style and citations.
Nursing Subject Headings
A list of Subject Headings and Subject Coverage for Nursing provided by Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL).
US Dept. of Health and Human Services provides searchable databases to reliable publications and other useful web resources.
Collection of quality health websites compiled by National Library of Medicine.
Gale - Testing and Education Reference Center
View Resource »
Aug 22, 2017 4:30 PM
Login to LibApps